Mac clone ad pulled from eBay

Posted by Dave Merten Apple ico May 7, 2008 at 11:13am

imageRecently, someone by the name of “chris555” had posted an ad advertising a ”$549 non Apple Mac OS X system that comes pre-loaded with genuine Mac OS X 10.5.”

The ad went on to say, “two such systems are currently available for direct purchase. Run the award winning Mac OS 10.5 on this custom-built desktop computer for hundreds less than a computer direct from Apple,” reads a description of the product. “This desktop comes preloaded with Mac OS X Leopard with all the latest features. The power of Mac OS X at a fraction of the price.

Constructed in a generic beige and black enclosure, the system sports a 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo Dual-core processor, 2GB DDR2 RAM, 250GB 7200RPM Serial ATA hard drive, Intel Integrated 3D Graphics, DVD burner, Built-in 10/100/1000BASE-T Ethernet, and three USB 2.0 ports.”

It sounds like the exact same computer Psystar is selling. I presume Apple’s legal department made a call to eBay and made them pull the ad.

image“Macsimum News” is a proud supporter of Planet Gumbo, which feeds the hungry. We urge you to help them in their efforts.

Leave a comment:
Please do your best to keep the comments on topic

Posted on October 07, 2008




Please enter the word you see in the image below:

Article Information

Comment on this Article Print this Article Email this Article Digg This

Contributor

Contributor

Dave Merten

Dave was one of the founding guides at ‘The Mining Company,’ now known as About.com, in February 1998. Dave was their ‘Focus on Mac Support’ guide. In 2004 he started ‘G5 Owners Support Group,’ and in 2005, renamed it ‘Mac Owners Support Group.’ In 2006, he started the ‘MacOSG Support Corner’ column here at Macsimum News

View Dave Merten's Articles

Recent Articles


Hotel München